aUTHOR

Rocky reviews.



Vermont Reviews

Jennie E.
Nicassio has done a great job with presenting the story of Rocky the Christmas tree who wanted to be the Rockefeller Christmas tree. Excellent illustrations and a wonderful story. 
Right now my reading schedule is overbooked. This would make a wonderful
christmas book to share with the children. 
Vermont Reviews 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 11:05 am by Vermont Reviews.


bookowlie

I absolutely love the cover of this book. The face on the tree is so cute and friendly, and I love the NY skyline as the backdrop. The summary blurb is well written and captured my interest, with an interesting plot description and unique character names. I liked the artwork in the sample pages and the short, easy to understand sentences on each page. I also read the Official Review and liked that book included some important lessons for children. Based on the sample and review, I am interested in reading the rest of the book. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 12:02 pm by 
bookowlie.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Sarah_Khan

At first glance, the cover art of this book is cute but I feel like the bottom part does not mesh well with the top, it seems like two different pictures. The blurb is well-written and does a good job of making me want to start reading the book.
After reading a few pages, I think the illustrations are really cute and the plot is interesting, I can see that this would be a good book for kids. The Online Book Club review also helped me like this book. Unfortunately, I will not be buying this book today because I am not the intended audience and I do not have any children. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 12:40 pm by Sarah_Khan.


CrescentMoon

I think the title is fitting and the cover is absolutely adorable. It would definitely catch the attention
for kids. I wouldn't pick this book up though because I don't really enjoy reading children's books and there are no kids around me to read this book to so I am just not the target audience for this book. After reading the first ten pages, I like how the author kept the language simple and direct which is fitting considering this is a kids book. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 2:20 pm by CrescentMoon.



gali

I wouldn't have sampled the book without the program as I only read kids books for review purposes. The cover is lovely and I love the idea of a tree as the main character. The blurb was fine and the official review piqued my interest. It looks like a cute book with great themes for kids and I loved the illustrations. I won't buy and read the
book,though, as I am not the target audience. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 2:55 pm by 
gali.
o

hsimone

Based on the beautiful cover, lovely title, amazing blurb, and positive reviews (including the OBC one), I most likely would have sampled this read. Based on what I read, the book does seem to be professionally edited. One of my favorite parts (aside from the themes in the story) are the pictures. They are colorful and vibrant. However, because I have Paperwhite Kindle, I know these colors won't pop out like they do on the Amazon sample. Overall, if this book was free, I would definitely read it, however, since it is not and I don't have KU, I will not be purchasing this book today. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 2:56 pm by 
hsimone.


Rachel1019

This is a charming little story that is able to teach children lessons in a fun way. I think the cover is adorable. The title is somewhat dull, but I think naming the tree Rocky was perfect for what it dreamed of becoming. This book would be a wonderful story to read to younger children. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 3:42 pm by Rachel1019.


AA1495

Had I not sampled the book, I'm not sure if I would have read it. It's interesting that a tree is the main character. Further, I like the anti-bullying theme. However, It seems like the book is for a different audience - Children. Having read the sample, my opinion remains. I like the illustrations and the brief narrations provided. However, it would have been more effective to describe the significance or role of the Rockefeller Christmas tree, in the beginning. The book seems to be professionally edited. It has a favorable Onlinebookclub review. However, because it is meant for a different audience, I will not be reading the book further. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 4:12 pm by AA1495.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

chocomeiske

Cute cover and obviously a book for children so I would not be interested in reading this book since I prefer to read a physical copy to my daughter so she can follow along.
The sample was so enjoyable and I think my daughter would love the pictures. It's also perfect for a bedtime story as it's so short and the pages are taken up mostly with the pictures.
It appears to be professionally edited as I can't recall any obvious errors. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 6:04 pm by 
chocomeiske.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

Kdonegan91

The cover is cute and eye-catching and the title left me curious. The story is inspirational and teaches a lesson. It flows smoothly and it is professionally edited. My children will love this book especially since Christmas is near. 

First Ten review added on December 3, 2016, at 10:24 pm by Kdonegan91.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

L_Therese

I pretty much knew right off that I wouldn't be purchasing this book today. I'm not a child, and I have no children, so I'm not part of the children's book market. That said, I still found this book adorable and enjoyable in the sample pages. The reviewer speaks highly of it as an anti-bullying book, and it sounds like it will motivate children to pursue their dreams even when they seem impossible. I found the illustrations eye-catching. If I were looking for a children's book, this might be high on my list. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 12:21 am by L_Therese.

Rachaelamb1

Because I have two young children, I am always on the lookout for great children's books. I would not have chosen to read this one based on the cover. It is busy and unprofessional. The bottom part of the cover looks completely out of place and for the life of me I can not figure out what that golden blob is. A shadow? Tree roots? I don't get it. 

While the illustrations in the sample are better than the cover, I would not consider them great. I don't personally care for them, but at least they are clean and simple. 

The story seems cute, well edited, and I like what the OBC official review had to say about it, but I won't be buying the book due to the illustrations. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 5:16 am by Rachaelamb1.



amybo82

This book's blurb, description, and reviews were interesting, but I was turned off by the artwork. I did not see an official Online Book Club review that discussed the book in detail. After reading the first part of the book, I decided to not read the whole thing. I noticed some grammatical errors in the first couple of pages, such as run-on sentences. I found the illustrations to be inconsistent--some things were outlined but other things weren't, some of the colors didn't seem to fit together, and some characters were very detailed and specific while others looked haphazardly thrown together. I did like the story, though! With a thorough proofread and a rework of the images, I think this would make a very good holiday book to share with the family. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 8:43 am by amybo82.


Momlovesbooks

The cover of this book is cute and would appeal to children. The OBC review was thorough and gave a glowing review with 4 out of 4 stars. I read the first few pages and could tell that this would be a wonderful Christmas book for children. However, my kids are older now and I won't be purchasing this book. Anyone with young children in their life should give it a try. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 11:32 am by Momlovesbooks.


anneloretrujillo

I would probably have sampled this book based on the title, genre and OBC review. It seemed like a cute children's book. After reading the first ten pages, I will not be buying this book. I think it is a super cute book, but I don't have anyone to read it with. I liked all of the pictures. This will definitely be one I go back to when I have kids. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 12:20 pm by 
anneloretrujillo.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No
Cjgarland89

This book was very cute. I immediately purchased mainly because it's a children's book and I have a
4 year old that would love it. We read it together and she asked me to read it again. The illustrations are very nice and the story is just a great lesson all around. The author did great and it was refreshing to see a book like this one as BOTD. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 4:16 pm by Cjgarland89.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

psychopathycathy

If I had not read the sample, I would not have read the book because it is a children's book. After reading the sample, I have not changed my mind. The drawings were very stylistic but also simple, and I wish we could see more in them. It seemed professionally edited. I did not read an online review. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 4:36 pm by 
psychopathycathy.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

jungkookblog

I think I would've read this book based on the title, cover, etc. because I personally love children's books! I think they're for all ages. I am going to buy the whole book because it seems so fun to read! I love the pictures too. It seems like it was professionally edited. I loved all the pictures, and it's extremely easy to read and enjoy. I did not see a review, and that has not affected my decision. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 6:40 pm by 
jungkookblog.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

klbradley

I always enjoy reading Christmas stories around this time of year. My favorite thing about this book is that I think it is one that I will be able to enjoy with my son. Although it is offered at a discounted price, I've just recently added too many books to my "want to read" list, so I'll have to pass on this one for now. 

First Ten review added on December 4, 2016, at 7:04 pm by 
klbradley.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

ZenaLei7

Since the book is free, I downloaded the sample and read the entire sample in one sitting. I think this is a great book for younger readers because it teaches them that they can do anything if they set their minds to it. I also didn't notice any major grammatical errors either. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by ZenaLei7.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

James Craft

I love the
kids books being featured here, and this one seems like an excellent book for Winter and Christmas time, though the fact that it is religiously oriented is sort of a turn off. All in all, the cover looks good and the fact that it has no mistakes could make it a very worthwhile book for kids to read with their parents. I won't be getting a copy but the fact that it got a perfect review from OBC is a huge mark in its favor. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by James Craft.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

va2016

A beautiful book. I already read the complete book. the illustrations are wonderful. the moral of the story is put forward well. thanks for the offer. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by va2016.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Jaime Lync

Rocky is known to be a blockbuster. Rocky by Jennie El
Nicassio is no different. The story teaches us to value ourselves and does it with great visual aids. I definitely recommend this book to everyone. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by Jaime Lync.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Izesicle

I'm a sucker for Christmas stories and this is no different. The cover has eye-catching illustrations and it's pretty easy to figure out what the book is all about. Rocky the movie is about an underdog who succeeds through self-belief and motivation. The Rocky and this book
is the same, not allowing bullies to dim the light of his optimism. I did not see any typos and I like the illustrations. I will finish reading this book because, based on the published review, I will not be disappointed. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by Izesicle.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

dhomespot

I would have absolutely bought this book without reading the first ten pages. I love reading books like this to my grandchildren. I did not see any errors and it looks to be professionally edited. The official review was
wonderful, but was not needed in helping me make up my mind. I have already read the whole book. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by 
dhomespot.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Lennycat

Had I not sampled the first ten pages of this book, I would still probably choose to read it because I have kids and they like me to read to them. I think the cover is cute and is appealing to children. The illustrations on each page, although digital-looking, were interesting. However, I'm sorry to say I don't think the book looks professionally done. There were no grammatical errors, but the font does not look that great. Sorry. I think the story is really cute though and kids will really like it. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by Lennycat.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

BunnySTx

After reading the first ten pages of, Rocky by Jennie E
Nicassio, I can say that I will be finishing this short story. I think that I would have looked into it even if I had not read a few pages. I am always looking for sweet reads for my daughter, and I think that this is one she'll enjoy. Based on what I have read Rocky appears to be professionally edited and proofread. I love the illustrations throughout this story and believe they will engage my daughter as well. This book does have an official OnlineBookClub review, and the review had a positive impact on my decision to finish this book. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by BunnySTx.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

micoleon13

The cover page is nice and bright to catch a child's attention. Although I prefer hand illustrated kids books, I would look at the review. The Onlinebookclub review was very
complementary and highlighted good themes of believing in yourself. The book itself was well written and easy to read. I can see this would be a good book for around Christmas time. I have no ideas for improvement. I would recommend this to friends with children, but I wouldn't buy it myself as I don't have any children. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by micoleon13.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

Snowflake

I like the cover of this book and I still have young children so I would likely have sampled this book without the first ten pages program. The OBC review is very positive and gives an excellent summary of the book. I like that it is geared to help children deal with bullying. Since this book is free, I will read the rest of it. However, I probably wouldn't read the rest if it was not free. We already own a very similar Dora book about a Christmas tree wanting to be picked by Santa Clause. It doesn't go as much into dealing with bullying but it is very much about working to make dream come true. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by Snowflake.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

Miche Sora

From the cover, this is a kid's book, a genre I have no interest in. The sample had few to no errors. I'm no judge of kids' books, but the language seemed a bit advanced for the age of child this book is aiming at. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by Miche Sora.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

ananya92

This is a book in the children's section and looks at the concept of bullying and working towards one's aim through the story of a Christmas tree. Such stories are always heartening to read, and this story is refreshing since it focuses on a tree, rather kids or animals, like other tales meant for younger audience usually do. The description and the well-written review were very precise as to what to expect from this book. The book seems to be edited properly and presentation of the book makes it easy for beginners who have just started school. Though I found the concept pretty endearing, since this is a book meant for kids, I think I'll skip this one. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by ananya92.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

Kitkat3

I like the cover and the title. I am not normally a fan of the obviously computer generated images, but these aren't that bad and have lots of
color. The blurb is interesting but a little long. It has received good reviews. I may have sampled this book without this program. It does appear to be professionally edited. The OnlineBookClub review was really helpful. I will be reading the rest of the book. 

First Ten review added 2 days ago by Kitkat3.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Insomniac07

I loved the bold and bright colors of the book. It'll help kids engaged with the story, I think. I've already downloaded and read the story. Predictably, it's too simple for me, but I'll have my 5-year-old nephew judge this book for himself. 

First Ten review added one day ago by Insomniac07.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Scerakor

From the cover, blurb, and review, I probably would not have given this book a chance were it not for the first ten program. Although I enjoy reading kids books, I rarely delve into unknown ones. After reading the first ten pages, and given the length of this book, I changed my mind and have already kept going to finish it. It was a great little story about believing in one's self that can be easily applied to any situation. The only downside is that it is very dependent on the family/kid either being American or knowing what the Rockefeller Christmas tree is. I have already bought the book and read the rest of it as it seemed interesting as well as well written and edited. 

First Ten review added one day ago by Scerakor.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Shelle

This book looked adorable and I was glad to have the opportunity to sample it. I liked the tone and the writing was easy to follow and would be great for kids. The illustrations are bright and bold and fun. I think kids and parents would enjoy this book and have some good discussions about
he themes. This book appeared to be professionally edited and error-free. 

First Ten review added one day ago by Shelle.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

EMoffat

If I had not read the sample pages I would not have read this book. I find the cover very cute, the reviews are great, the blurb was intriguing, but I don't generally read children's books. After reading the sample pages I will not continue with the book. I believe it would be a great book for children, but the sample was not long enough to interest me in reading further. The book seemed professionally edited and I found no grammatical errors. My
favourite part was the great story concept. My only suggestion for improvement would be to make the sample a little longer to draw readers in. There was an Official OnlineBookClub review which was very good, but sadly it did not change my mind about reading the book. 

First Ten review added one day ago by 
EMoffat.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

classicaltwist

My first impression of this book is that I wouldn't buy it. I'm not a child and I don't have any children in my life, so I'm definitely not the target demographic for this book.

Neither the sample nor the review changed my mind since I have no interest in children's books. It does seem to be professionally edited. I will say that if I did have any kids in my life I still probably wouldn't buy this book. I didn't really like the art style and I thought the font was a bad fit. 

First Ten review added 18 hours ago by 
classicaltwist.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

CarrieMe

Based on the cover and blurb, I wouldn't normally choose this book. I like finding good children's books, but this one seems a bit cheesy. (The blurb feels like it's selling the story too hard for it to actually be good.) The reviews seem positive, but that's not enough for me. After reading the sample, I've changed my mind. The writing and graphics are better than I expected, so I'd like to give this book a chance. It seems like a cute story so far. I didn't notice any mistakes. 

First Ten review added 15 hours ago by 
CarrieMe.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

Christina O Phillips

I love finding books to use in my classroom. This has the unique quality of being about Christmas yet not religious. This looks like I could use it in class. 

First Ten review added 15 hours ago by Christina O Phillips.

Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!

MarisaRose

"Rocky" is not a book I would typically choose to read. I don't have any young kids in my life, so children's books don't really appeal to me. After sampling this one, I thought the illustrations were cute and vibrant, but I wasn't impressed by the writing. I won't be buying this one. 

First Ten review added 9 hours ago by MarisaRose.

Do you plan to read the whole book? No

truebookaddict

I do not usually buy/read children's books now that my sons are older teens so I probably would not have read/sampled this one if it wasn't for the first ten program. The book was free so I did download it and I plan to finish it. I love the wonderful
illustrations, and the story line of believing in yourself...believing we can accomplish anything if we just have the pluck and determination. Perfect themes for a children's book. Making it a Christmas tale as well really makes the book stand out during the season of giving. I really liked it. The editing was good. I did not notice typos or grammatical errors. (This book was officially reviewed on OBC) 

First Ten review added 7 hours ago by 
truebookaddict.Do you plan to read the whole book? Yes!